Open everyday 2pm-6pm from 

19th April until 30th September 2019

Tel: 01837 810318

Email: info@warhorsevalley.co.uk

Address:

War Horse Valley Country Farm Park

Iddesleigh

Hatherleigh

Devon

EX19 8SN

England

© Copyright 2017 Warhorse Valley Country Farm Park

Website built by SW Websites

Stay in touch
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • tripadvisor-xxl

Visitor Reviews

September 2017
“I love that farm” by Adele Jorakova

We found the place by accident during visiting Iddlesleigh and we are glad for it! Firs you spot alpacas called Mocca, Capuccino and Latte according their colour, they're gorgeous! And then a lot of other animals like goats, ducks, pigs, horses, rabbits or chickens, of course cows. You can visit an exhibition about first WW and experience the trenches on your own. Part of exhibition is dedicated to the story of the War horse (and generally horses during war) and its author, Michael Morpugho who lives nearby. There is a nice trail around the farm with lovely views and animals around (hills icluded ;)). You can take a "cow safari" trip to see gathering the cows using the dogs and then milking. On farm is available caffeteria. Farm staff very welcoming and helpful.

August 2017
“Absolutely loved this place” by Hayley Hamilton

It was great to be on a working organic farm but also to have the insight of how Micheal Morpurgo came up with the idea of war horse. Everybody there was so welcoming; helpful and informative. Fantastic tea room serving amazing home baked cakes and decent cafetiere coffee (another bonus). Great interaction with animals. It was also amazing value for money. Already planning to pop back up as we loved it so much.

August 2017
“There is something magical about this place” by Marc Astley  (CEO of the Exeter Daily) 

I have just one complaint about War Horse Valley Country Farm Park... I couldn't get my four-year-old daughter to leave!!!

Not only is this a visitor attraction in an an area steeped in history, it is also a working organic farm.

Within two minutes of arriving we were feeding the alpacas who were in turn being mugged by pigmy goats.

We were also lucky timing wise in that one of the farm dogs had just a week earlier given birth to a litter of puppies which she happily let us pet.

That was the highlight of my daughter's day but I was blown away by the trailer ride to see the cows being rounded up and milked.

Graham, the farmer, gave us a fascinating running commentary about the benefits of organic farming before taking us to see the milking parlour at work.

Next was a visit to see (and stroke) the baby calves before a quick hand was and back to the farm house.

We arrived at 2.30pm and left at 5.30pm and didn't get chance to see half of what is on offer.

My daughter did manage to sample a tub of ice cream, made at a farm a few miles away and I spied some amazing cakes and scones in the attractive tea room.

There is something magical about this place. Another reviewer described it as 'a slice of Devon Life' and I agree.

But it is much more than that... It is a slice of the past, present and future of Devon life and I would urge you to make sure your get a piece.

Thank you Graham and Rose for making us feel so welcome and Susanna for the recommendation...

August 2017
“Wow what an amazing place” by Fiona Gill

Absolutely loved it, so glad we visited, hearing about how Micheal morpugo came up with the story, by listening to ww1 soldiers in the local Duke of York pub. Getting hands on with the lovely animals, very friendly owners, seeing how the dairy farm works. Cannot wait to go back, cream tea in amazing. Will see you all again soon

 

August 2016

"Our young children loved it" by Ian S

We visited the farm with our two small children (3 year old and 18 months old). Both our children love animals and they had lots of opportunities to experience the different animals of the farm up close. The farm owner allowed visitors to help round up cattle, hold a piglet, feed calves and sit in a tractor. Our children enjoyed every minute. The museum exhibits were very interesting and tea room served lovely food.

August 2016

"Great afternoon at War Horse Valley" by Nicky

I had a lovely afternoon with my mum and two daughters. I really liked how welcome we were made to feel. The museum has lots of interesting local history artifacts and war horse information. Various bits of old farm machinery to be seen around the yard. The farm trail was a hit for the children whilst myself and mum enjoyed the beautiful views. The friendly farm animals and the trailer ride to see the cows being milked were good and i really enjoyed the talks on the way back.
It doesn't end there though... afternoon tea... Beautiful homemade cakes and cream teas to refuel are a must. I would highly recommend passing an afternoon here.

August 2016

"Very well done exhibits crafted by a committed couple" by Dave S

This farm has two purposes. It is a working dairy farm intended to expose city dweller especially children to rural farm life in England. It is also the home of Joey, the equine hero of the movie "War Horse" based on the book of the same name. Author Michael Morpurgo in collaboration with Graham and Rose Ward have developed this exhibition of both farm life and the World War I experience. That this is a labor of love is obvious. A bonus is a pleasant drive through the Devon countryside.

April 2016

"Visited on Easter holidays" by Andrea L

My husband and I took our two young children here today. The hospitality we were shown was absolutely wonderful. It was wonderful meeting Joey in his paddock and his friends. We thoroughly enjoyed the museum where we learnt all about the author of War Horse, Mr Michael Morpurgo and all the other books he has written. There is so much to see and do, both at War Horse Valley and the surrounding area. The Duke of York is also a must see which is the local public house in Iddesleigh which is still in its original historical condition with excellent food and excellent service. We will definitely ho back. Thank you.

October 2015

"Great experience for all ages" by Louise

I live in Dolton and had friends visiting. Absolutely great value or rewarding experience learning about First World War, War Horse Book and Film as well as opportunity for Farming for children from cities. Lovely owners, very friendly and helpful. 3 young Alpacas, oh so cute, plus pigs, chickens, horses, cows, calves and ducks/geese, great for kids and adults. Great free range eggs and fresh runner beans and BEST cream tea in Devon. Do go, you will not be disappointed.

Read over 50 reviews on our Facebook and Trip Advisor pages